In many countries, governments spend a lot of money celebrating national holidays and festivals. However some people think that spending money on theses celebration is. a waste.To ehat extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Some believe that the people and governments of several nations spend excessively on celebrating religious and cultural festivals. I disagree because government spending can be an investment to attract tourism, and for individual citizens, it is quality time spent with their families.

National celebrations pay off through increased tourism revenue. Governments’ spending large sums of their income will make tourists travel to countries with celebrations for enjoyment, which makes them spend money on food, clothes, and transportation while celebrating such festivals. For instance, when the big fireworks celebration in New York happens, millions of tourists from all around the world visit New York City to enjoy it, which causes them to contribute to the city’s economy in a significant way.

For citizens, national celebrations are used as a way of connecting back with their friends and family for quality time. People use their money as a way of being with their families by going out to eat at restaurants and going on sightseeing adventures, strengthening their bonds with each other. In the US, they spend a huge amount of money on Christmas as it involves buying a lot of presents for everybody in the family, but many believe it is worth the cost, considering they get to spend the whole day or multiple days with friends and family.

In conclusion, I disagree that too much money is spent on national celebrations, as the money spent by the governments gets earned back through tourism, and people have a way of reconnecting with their friends and family through the celebrations.