In many countries life expectancy is increasing. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon

These day, as a result of better quality healthcare longevity is going up globally. Living longer has many advantages, also disadvantages. In this essay I will discuss both sides of this situation.

One of the main benefits of living longer is the ageing populations can have more meaningful moments with their family members, especially their grandchildren and look after them. For instance, collecting children from school whenever their parents are busy. Moreover, the wealth of knowledge and experience that elderly individuals possess, they can share its with the young generation or give them advices. Because they live longer, they have more time to enjoy their rest of their lives. They have more opportunities to travel to new destinations and get involved in a wide range of hobbies and activities that were impossible while working and bringing up a family.

But while there are tremendous benefits to increase life expectancy, it also has many drawbacks. Older people are more likely to suffer from medical problems, especially chronic illnesses like diabetes and muscle pain, which seriously restrict their daily activities. This also means increase medical expenses, for both elderly individuals and society. In addition, if older people aren’t working, they won’t have enough money to pay for their lifestyle. To many pensioner, who rely on savings money and pensions, the pension funds can be exhausted.

In conclusion, while life expectancy offers the benefit of increased time for enjoy life and family connections, it also presents challenges such as a rise in the prevalence of diseases within the ageing population. Thus, societies need to improve the health care condition to keep a balanced and sustainable quality of life for the elderly.