In many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world.

We are now living in a world of globalization, where people can find international products in their native countries, including food. This, in turn, raises questions about whether it is a positive or negative development. In my opinion, this is a change for the worse, as it may contribute to the decreased demand for national meals and problems with budget.

There are multiple arguments why the availability of international food in many countries should be viewed negatively, with one such reason being the unpopularity of local meals. Admittedly, a number of shopping malls and supermarkets usually offer a wide range of world-renowned meals, introducing new eating habits for people. Take sushi and hamburgers as pertinent examples in the case- the most popular international food in my country, Uzbekistan. If people in this country were given a chance to choose either local food or food from other countries, they would probably place higher value on international meals. This goes to show that this trend may lead to less demand for locally produced food in a particular country, with Uzbekistan being a clear illustration in this regard.

Another possible worrying aspect behind this picture can be financial instability in a particular country. In fact, the more internationally produced goods people want, the more variety of food a country should export all over the world. Sea animals are a commonly consumed type of product in several restaurants across China, with a number of food additives being considered. To that end, a country tends to export these foods in order to meet consumers’ needs, a financially overwhelming responsibility for industrializing countries. These practices may put an extra burden on a nation’s economy, which is one of the preliminary reasons why this trend is negative.

In conclusion, while supermarkets now offer a wide range of foods from different parts of the world, I consider this development to be highly disadvantageous, as it may prevent people from eating locally manufactured meals and can strain a nation’s economy.