In many countries, people are choosing to have fewer children or no children at all. What are the reasons for this trend, and what effects does it have on society?

In recent years, there has been a significant concern, of communities choosing the option of having fewer kids or having none. This trend is often influenced by several factors such as; finances, delay, fear and emotional trauma. I will be explaining the reasons and effects it might have.

Firstly, when there is insufficient finances, the motive behind having kids become less, because it is a burden bringing kids into the world without substantial means of survival, as a result this could lead to malnourished kids and poor upbringing. In addition, Africa has a high rate of mortality when it comes to child bearing, due to this most women get so scared and decides not to give birth, as they believe there are under qualified practitioners, sometimes it could be emotional trauma from past pregnancies of the individual or online documentary of random strangers child delivering.

In the Southern region of Edo state, the population is quite small, because they lack professionals in gnaecology and obstetrician and also, lack of well equipped hospitals, most of the indigenes can barely feed themselves, talk-more of procreating.

One major effect, is a reduced population, there would be more older generation and less of young citizens, in terms of employment; practical and theoretical knowledge cannot be passed down from the ancient to the modern citizens and as a result this will affect the growth of its economy. Moreso, family lineage and properties will not be preserved, as there will be no one to inherit them, when the older ones are no more.

In conclusion, government needs to enlighten its people on child bearing, provide adequate facilities and offer free delivery service for her society.