in many countries, people are consuming more sugar based drinks than before. Why is this happening, and what could be done to reduce sugary drink consumption.

A number of people across different countries are consuming sugar-based drinks more often as compared to the past. While modern lifestyle and false advertising are the primary causes of this trend, access to healthy meals and greater availability of non-sugary substitutes seem to be the viable solutions to lower the consumption of such beverages.

These days, most of the young working adults are inclined to skip meals, especially during the breakfast time when they search for something which they can consume quickly on their way to work. Thus, drinking fruit juices or soda beverages instead of eating a proper breakfast seems to be more doable as one does not have to spend a lot of time preparing it or even eating it. Furthermore, sugar-based drinks are falsely advertised by various brands by promoting that they are loaded with nutrients like vitamins and minerals. This leads the consumers to believe that the liquids they are consuming are not only refreshing but also energy giving.

Hence, in order to reduce the over-dependence on consumption of such drinks, easier access to balanced meals can be one of the feasible solutions. For instance, workplaces can offer healthier menus at the canteen for their employees. Besides, in order to change this trend, the government can support and encourage companies to produce smoothies, shakes and drinks with zero sugar content and foods such as dry fruits, nuts and ready-to-eat soups in the market, which will in turn foster good eating habits among people.

In conclusion, given the fast-paced lifestyle and unreal claims of drinks being nutritious in advertisements, many people are drinking sugary beverages. Nevertheless, increased availability of nutrient-rich meals and access to sugar-free substitutes can help to decrease the consumption of these drinks which are rich in sugar.