In many countries, people are moving away from rural areas and towards urban areas. Why do you think it is? What problems can it cause?

In recent years, migration from rural to urban areas in many countries has occurred increasingly. This can be due to a number of factors. In my opinion, this is a negative development. As rural areas depopulate, important agricultural activities decline, and urban centers face the challenge of overpopulation.

One of the main reasons for the phenomenon is because the quality of life in the city is much better than in the countryside. Specifically, urban areas typically have better infrastructure, including transportation networks and communication facilities as well as other facilities. Rural areas often have difficult conditions for development and receive little attention from the government, so transportation is poor and there is no access to modern equipment. Simultaneously, cities also provide more options for recreation, the countryside does not have various places such as movie theatres, zoos, amusement parks, bars, museums. Besides, the migration from rural to urban areas is the availability of better job prospects in cities. Urban areas can provide more employment opportunities for a variety of industries, whereas rural areas often only have agricultural and small commodity trading industries.

Although rural-urban migration can be beneficial from an individual perspective, there are some drawbacks that society has to deal with. Large populations in cities lead to pressure on the natural resources. The amount of fuel consumed per year increases, causing a shortage of non-reusable fuels such as oil, coal, and natural gas. At the same time, it also causes air pollution when using too much of those fuels. The influx of people into urban areas also can strain the existing resources, leading to issues such as overcrowding, traffic congestion, and lack of housing. The poor cannot afford to have a proper accommodation.

In conclusion, the trend of mass migration from rural to urban areas can be explained by several aspects such as lack of required living conditions and occupations. However, this trend can also give rise to a series of problems related to urban overcrowding, infrastructure stress and environmental problems