In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an aging population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages? People often say it is advantageous that our society has more elderly people. While it may seem that we need to face some challenges onward, I believe that the positive impacts on the country's prosperity outweigh the negative ones.

People often say it is advantageous that our society has more elderly people. While it may seem that we need to face some challenges onward, I believe that the positive impacts on the country’s prosperity outweigh the negative ones.

Regarding the difficulties we might face, the first thing is that people will consume and waste more natural resources due to living longer than before, namely water shortage, deforestation, soil erosion, or climate change. To illustrate this, farmers have to cultivate more crops or other agricultures with a larger water usage, to satisfy the food demand owing to aging people. The next challenge is the burden of young people is heavier. Lots of developed countries are increasing the tax on adults with working capabilities since the governments have the responsibility to take good care of those elder residents in countries. By providing a high-quality welfare program, a large amount of budget is inevitable.

Despite the challenges mentioned above, there are lots of benefits that older people can provide. Firstly, the older can descend the knowledge and experience they have to the younger generation. Based on historical experience and knowledge, industries nowadays can improve with significant growth. Furthermore, a longer life span will lead to higher productivity. With good medical care and technologies, people tend to keep their bodies healthier and live longer. Therefore, the retirement age can be delayed and those elders can contribute their abilities to businesses and foster our economy. For example, my dad has already arrived at the age that can retire, but he still insists on running his company and keeps mentoring young people, trying his best to maximize his value to the semiconductor industry.

In conclusion, I concur with the notion that the advantages of transforming into an aging society outweigh the disadvantages due to the abundant knowledge provided by older people and better average productivity led by a longer life span.