In many countries people have to pay for medical care, but some think that it should be a free service provided by the government. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Healthcare has always been a controversial service that a government either provide for free, or leave it to the citizens to take care of. Some people prefer the quality-based paid healthcare systems, while others argue, that healthcare should be free for everyone.

I believe that healthcare is an essential part of a country, as important as keeping people safe on the streets. People are created equal, they have equal rights provided by the state. If public protection, freedom of speech or even the right to leave the country are provided by the state, why keeping oneself healthy wouldn’t be? Every person has the right to recevie medical care, without looking at their financial position. For example, a citizen, who pays to get ahead in the surgery queue could take away the possibility for others to get organ replacement. This could cost one’s life.

It is also beneficial for the government to support free healthcare. Providing people with the right health service can have an incredible effect on population health measures. Increasing a nation’s overall health means a thriving economy where people can enjoy life to its fullest. Increasing public health means higher average life expectancy, thus people work longer.

On the other hand, some governments prefer not dealing with the healthcare, lowering the taxes in exchange. These states rather spend the money on boosting the economy, so it returns people’s money that they can spend on healthcare.

To sum everything up, both keeping healthcare free and providing only paid services are viable options to tackle a country’s health concerns, however I believe that every person should have the opportunity to receive hight-quality medical treatment.