In many countries, people now wear western clothes such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, in numerous nations Western-style clothes like suits or jeans are a preferred choice compared to traditional dresses. For example, in southern Germany the legacy clothes are widely worn only during holidays like Octoberfest. Similarly, in Russia the historical suits are only a part of theatre performances or other ancient reconstruction activities of sorts.

The reason why traditional clothes is becoming less and less popular is because of its inconvenience. In Israel, for instance, only a minority of religious orthodox Jews (hassidicHassidic) are wearing the so-called Shtrambl – a big black hat made of thick wool. Obviously a hat from the Polish fashion of the 14th century is not the best choice in the subtropical climate. The small Jewish kippah, on the other hand, is a very practical outfit in the climate and cultural circumstances of the modern Israel.

While some think that the Western way of life only favors comfort, other people do not forget about their national or religious roots, and I fully agree with their attitude. In my opinion, the motion towards the full eradication of traditional costumes can not cannot be tolerated. There needs to be a reasonable level of governmental protection of the national inheritance, including classic clothes together with other traditions. Subsequently, governments that do not condemn such behavior make their first steps in becoming more vulnerable to various cultural threats and, in the long run, lead their nations to the ultimate collapse.

In conclusion, although it is natural to pursue convenience and comfort in the modern way of life, additional efforts should be taken to allow traditional clothing to survive. The key to the balance is the common sense of government officials, who need to release effective support measures for the national inheritance while not imposing the traditional way of life on the whole modern society.