In many countries, people now wear western-style dresses such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, in many countries, people stopped wearing traditional clothes, as now they more prefer western clothes like suits and jeans. It could be a negative trend because it can lead to the loss of the culture , but I believe that the convenience overweights the traditions.

On the one hand, this development can be the main reason for the loss of the culture, because this trend of wearing modern and stylish clothes can make people forget about the history of their countries, as traditional clothing used to be one of the symbols of the country. The traditional clothes used to make every country different from each other. But now, almost every person looks the same because they follow modern trends. For instance, in the past, suits were mainly only for men. Women used to wear dresses or skirts, but nowadays, it’s daily and even casual for both men and women.

However, I believe that western clothing is comfortable and stylish, which I think is more important than traditions. For example, jeans, casual clothes, which is very convenient for busy daily life, because people nowadays work a lot and have busy daily graphics literally every day. So jeans and that kind of western clothes are perfect for that kind of days. In addition, it’s stylish, as it’s easy to fit them with every clothes, shirt or t-shirt, for example. As a counterargument, clothes designers of the country, for example China, where traditional clothes are very beautiful and unique, but they are not enough casual and also inconvenient. So designers can balance everything. As an example, just making the clothes comfortable and stylish, but adding that traditional patterns or symbols, which obviously can make the clothes traditional, trendy, and convenient.

In conclusion, I believe that traditional clothes are that stuff which makes the country unique and different, but the convenience, I think, is more important than traditions.