In many countries, people now wear western-style dresses such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

People had been wearing their own traditional clothes as per their culture for the past few years, however, due to globalization, they prefer to wear similar types of outfits. In my opinion, this is a negative development and needs to be addressed.

One negative impact of wearing the same kinds of clothes by most of the world is the disappearance of different cultures. Traditional clothes represent the identity of a particular community and when it stops using those clothes, it becomes difficult to save their culture. This is most common in today’s digital world where individuals imitate each other’s traditions, culture and clothes. For instance, the Asian community is thriving in western culture, wearing their outfits, leading to the disappearance of their own culture.

Another drawback of this trend could be the dominance of one culture. Diversity among people would vanish and there would be only one community which would lead others. Universal language of English is the prime example of this, as most people prefer to communicate in English, resulting in decline of other languages. Similarly, if individuals stop representing their own traditional attire and continue copying western culture, the latter would dominate others.

The rise in globalization has led to exchange in culture, language, clothes and ideas which is necessary. However, moderation is the key. Wearing or promoting another’s culture is not negative but forgetting about their own culture would be disadvantageous. Therefore, people should keep wearing their own traditional clothes, especially on their special occasions and promote the significance of these outfits among future generations.

In conclusion, although wearing the same clothes promotes unity among people, it destroys diversity among them, resulting in the disappearance of some cultures and promoting the dominance of one society. Thus, if this change is used carefully, it would minimize these drawbacks.