In many countries plastic bags are the main source of rubbish causing pollution in oceans and on land; therefore they should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement ?

Nowadays, pollution is becoming a growing concern in many different countries, and the main reason behind that is the use of poly bags, that pollute both our environmental and marine life. I also believe contamination on land and water is due to the usage of such bags and the government should take necessary steps for eliminating them.

To begin with, plastic bags are used everywhere from shops to shopping malls and most of the times customers usually throw it anywhere. As these are non-biodegradable items, so they remain on the earth for indefinite period of time and end up into micro plastic over the time. Furthermore, when these bags disposed off into the oceans, then this pose a high threat to creatures under the seas because they might feed on them, and also create harmful diseases to seafood lovers. To illustrate this, according to recent research, 80% population is non-vegetarian and they are facing serious illness due to the consumption of these foods.

Although these bags are cheap, light-weighted but there is a need to take strict actions in order to reduce environment and water pollution. Government should possess fines and encourage people to use bio-degradable bags such as jute bags. For instance, Singapore is one of the countries who used these bags for maintaining sustainable environment.

In conclusion, plastic bags form a major chunk of garbage on the globe and posing a great threat to flora and fauna. Therefore, these bags should be abolished and alternatives would be used for protecting our land and oceans.