in many countries, some students live with their families while studying, but other students prefer to attend universities in other cities. Do the benefits of living away from home outweigh the disadvantages?

Around the globe, some undergraduates reside with their family while they are in the tertiary education stage; however, others would rather attend universities in different cities. While the choice of living and studying outside of their local areas seems to be disadvantageous because of feeling lonely and costing a fortune, the benefits of this preference, like independence in life and networking opportunities, are likely to be superior.

It is an undeniable fact that there may be several problems that arise when undergraduates study in different cities because of their university location. Firstly, they feel somehow lonely, causing them to miss their families greatly. That means it can have a negative influence on their performance at universities, leading to bad grades and stress. For example, if a person has never been away from their neighborhood, they are likely to be stressed by missing their relatives. Consequently, in some cases, even they tend to just drop out and lose their motivation for the studies.

Furthermore, living in another town may cost an arm and a leg. Obviously, students should pay rents for accommodations, causing extra expenditure rather than those who attend from their own house. In addition to this, it is often seen that the price of cuisines in other towns is expensive, resulting in students paying out further. As a consequence, somehow students’ families tend to struggle in order to provide them with enough funds.

On the other hand, studying in unfamiliar cities may give lifelong skills to individuals. First of all, they learn how to become independent in life, which can be acquired anywhere. That is to say, in another place they have to do everything themselves—from cooking to ironing—fostering self-reliance. This can lead to personal growth and management of life on your own. Moreover, since there are many students as well as professors coming from diverse backgrounds and places, students will have an opportunity to connect with them and study together. That means that these relationships can open doors for the future. As an example, as soon as students get a job, they are likely to be colleagues with their peers, and even with the help of professors’ recommendations, they tend to make right decisions for their upcoming life. Hence, students can develop their independence along with new social networking opportunities when the location of their university or college is away from their hometown.

In conclusion, although it seems to have many disadvantages to studying in another city, such as feeling homesick and costing a lot, crucial life skills—to be independent and networking chances—are much more significant.