in many countries, some students live with their families while studying, but other students prefer to attend universities in other cities. Do the benefits of living away from home outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no doubt that, university life is one of the most important part of a student’s life. There are many people who think, living with their family will help students focus better on their studies. But I believe students should move out of their comfort zone once they pass out from their schools and experience life outside of their hometown. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument and put forth my views supporting the latter.

For many students, moving out of their homes to a new city to attend universities can be a traumatic experience, because hostel life at a university can be rough initially, since he/she needs to get used to the new environment. This sudden change can sometimes make the student home sick and they may start to lose focus on their studies. To illustrate, many students who move from rural areas to universities in metro cities may find it very difficult to adjust to the life in a big city. A survey conducted at Anna University in Chennai revealed that 30% of the students are unhappy with their hostel life and claims its affecting their studies.

However, moving to a new city to attend university will help students learn important life lessons, like adapting to a new environment and managing your own money. One of the most important skill a employer looks at when hiring from universities is his/her’s soft skills and living in a new city will help students hone this skill. Furthermore, moving away from once hometown will equip students to manage uncertainty

In conclusion, despite the culture shock and new living conditions in a new city, I believe that broadening one’s horizon is a positive which outweighs any and all negatives.