In many countries the consumption of fast food has increased dramatically in recent years . What has caused this increase? What effect might it have on individuals and society.give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Over the years, increase in the consumption of fast food has been a topic for major concern, when it comes to health. It is fair to say that it has widely affected individuals and society.

The rapid increase, observed in recent years is caused by advancement in accessibility, technology and readily available food. Fast food is considered a quick fix for individuals these days. Students living far from home or working professionals wanting to eliminate the time and effort of cooking are mostly eating out fast food. The need to be cost-efficient, save time and energy as well as the be socially accepted are the main causes of a tremendous hike in the consumption of fast food. Moreover, the society is being prone to procure these food items in the name of marketing and social status. For example, people have started to determine your social status based on how frequently eat out. The more you eat at restaurants, the more you are considered outgoing and socially accepted.

I would also like to add that, growing platforms of food delivery is also another reason for a jump in the number of people consuming fast food. The applications provide you any cuisine and type of food, veg or nonveg, sweet or savour at any provided location with one click. Making these things easy and accessible to everyone on their mobile phone has made the population lean towards these food habits.

Obesity and unhealthy eating habits is the main consequence of eating fast food on individuals and society. The food we get is called fast because it is pre-cooked and ready to eat. This means it contains various preservatives and additives which is bad for our body in a long run. It also results in procrastination and laziness among individuals. Not having mineral rich food which is homemade could possibly impact daily life activities and result in fatigue and tiredness. Having said that fast food also has positive impact in certain situations. For example, a mom of two has fallen sick, has high fever and it is witnessing constant body aches. Readily available food would be a great help to the family in this situation.

I would like to conclude by saying that fast food has undeniably provided relaxation in tough situations with readily available food, but it has more consequences that benefits to offer. So, yes it can he had occasionally, but development of its habit is not ideal.