In many countries, the number of people suffering from stress in the workplace is increasing. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to tackle it?

Stress has been on the rise for the last couple of years across different age groups. This essay will discuss the reasons behind this increase and some measures to tackle it.

The causes of this stress surge can be due to multiple reasons. First, many people believe that humanity was always subject to high stress. However, nowadays, people are more likely to get diagnosed by a mental health professional than in the 1800s. As such, many bad cases used to go under the radar or be considered as insanity and sent away to mental hospitals. On the other hand, one can arguee that life is more stressful today than ever before. People are always in a rush against the clock, their daily schedule barely allowing them for time to rest. A prime example of this are office workers. They have to be at the office 8 hours a day, in addition to at least 2 hours of commute time, and 8 hours of sleep. That leaves them less than 6 hours per day to take care of all other necessities. Unfortunetly, that is not enough, and leads people to burn out quicker, keeping to themselves and doom scrolling.

Different measures could be taken to tackle this phenomena. If the stress is mediacally diagnosed, the most important one would be to consistently follow a therapist’s advice. Their job is to help their patients navigate life. As such, I would encourage anyone dealing with accute stress to reach out to one. Additionally, I think stress and anxiety can be alleviated by spending less time on social media, and more time interacting with the word around us. Activities such as the gym, or group sports should be encouraged through government stipends or campaigns.

In conclusion, the number of people suffering from stress has been steadily increasing these past years. This is due to both increased diagnosis and a more stressful life routine. To tackle this problem, I believe one should reach out to a therapist and spend more time off their phone.