In many countries, there is an increasing trend of importing ready-made meals instead of cooking at home using fresh ingredients. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

There has been an ongoing debate on whether eating fast food instead of self-cooking is a positive or negative development. While some people argue that that former choice is less time consuming, others believe that cooking by yourself is more trustworthy as ingredients that are incorporated there are known. This essay partially agrees with this statement as both trends have its merits in specific cases.

Eating fast food is a pervasive trend nowadays as it requires less time for cooking. Ingredients there are already prepared and time is being spent only on packaging, which is profound for individuals with a drastic schedule and lack of spare time. As work is prioritized by a plethora of people, witnessing a demand in time management has become easier, which makes it even harder for them to cook food by themselves. In some work places, for instance, canteens are included to foster the process of eating during the break time as all the food is already provided in the plates there.

Inclusion of ingredients in self-cooking is more trusting, however. In some junk food restaurants components of food are staying mysterious, which makes it difficult for some consumers to be comfortable eating that. For example, for vegetarians, it is very essential to be informed about the recipe and components added to the food, which cannot be feasible every time. Therefore, cooking by themselves offers not only confidence in the ingredient choosing but also trust in what they consume.

In conclusion, both perspectives offer valid arguments regarding food choice. While fast food needs less time to be ready, components from which it has been made are not comprehended. It is suggestible to stay with the latter choice if someone is vegan, but if they are having a highly overloaded schedule, the first choice will be preferable.