In many countries, there's an increasing emphasis on practical skills and vocational training over theoretical knowledge and academic education. Do you think this is a positive or negative development for society as a whole?

In today’s globalised world, the significance of practical abilities and professionalism is growing considerably. In my point of view, this tendency is highly beneficial for society as I believe that in real-world terms it is better to rely on hands-on skills rather than theoretical awareness because nowadays many companies value employees’ adaptability and practicality. Furthermore, I strongly hold the opinion that vocational training significantly surpasses academic knowledge because it helps people focus only on their future profession and encourages a stable career life.

Defending my first stance, I put real-world skills over theoretical experience as I think that in the working space it is highly recommended to have job-related abilities, because it is convenient for employers to hire workers who initially have experience in the workplace so that they will adapt to the work flow quickly. For example, in medicine, it is a widespread phenomenon for people to go through practical training before they are employed. By this way, medical practitioners improve their flexibility at the workplace.

In my second statement, I state that vocational practice is more efficient than academic education, proving it by the fact that it does not waste people’s time by teaching them a redundant amount of information as in scholarly education. It helps people concentrate specifically on their prospective profession and maintain a long-term career development.

In conclusion, I consider practical skills and career training a vital part of the advancement of the community because they provide real-life proficiency and flexibility to get involved in their future careers.