In many countries today, people are living in a 'throwaway society', where things are used in a short time and then thrown away. What are its causes? What are its problems?

People around the world are witnessing the rise of a ‘throwaway society,’ where they throw away newly bought items such as clothes, shoes, or digital products into trash bins after using them only for a short while. This trend is becoming ubiquitous in an increasingly large number of countries, especially those that are affluent. This essay will argue that a range of causes have brought about this phenomenon, whose presence is by no means without alarming consequences.

The causes leading to a ‘throwaway society’ are multifarious, one prominent being that goods are becoming less and less expensive. Thanks to the design of automated production lines which significantly improve production efficiency and reduce production time and cost, manufacturers are able to sell cheap what were dear in the past. As a result, people can afford a greater variety of products than they could. They are perfectly comfortable with throwing away used items because, after all, they do not cost much. Another underlying reason is that it is not because these products turn useless that people dispense with them as disposables, but because people are keen to keep up with the latest trends and fashions, as often happens in the world of textiles and digital products. For instance, many people get rid of nearly brand new clothes and shoes simply because they are ‘out of fashion.’ Likewise, digital enthusiasts dispose of almost unused smart phones and laptops purely because the latest model is just released on the market and they cannot wait to try. Consequently, functionable products in good conditions are thrown away after staying with their users for only a short period.

The making of a ‘throwaway society’ has undesirable repercussions affecting both the environment and individuals. It is commonly known that manufacturing products draws on valuable natural resources, some of which are unrenewable and may be depleted one day, for example, metals and petroleum. If people keep throwing away things with such a threatening frequency, then we would only accelerate the exploitation of crucial raw materials until nothing is left for us to use. In addition to this, it is obvious that the production itself relies heavily on the consumption of energy, which is typically heat or electricity generated by burning fossil fuel. Disposing of products at an alarming rate has the implications that not only is a significant amount of energy wasted, but huge volumes of greenhouse gases are emitted into the atmosphere causing pollutions as well as global warming. Apart from that, individuals in the ‘throwaway society’ also suffer. Many people slavishly following the trends and fashions do not think carefully whether their financial circumstances permit the purchase of a new product. They would rather get rid of old items and run up debts that they will be unlikely to pay off in order to buy new ones. Hence, they would probably end up with being surrounded by fancy gadgets and garments as well as towering debts.

In conclusion, the emergence of a ‘throwaway society’ has its roots in cheaper products and people’s obsessions with fashions and trends. Throwing away things after they are used for a short time can lead to negative consequences, ranging from wasting natural resources and energy to incurring unnecessary debts, which we are obliged to guard against.