In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

In the contemporary world, against a backdrop of densely populated areas in many corners of the world, numerous city-dwellers are now inclined to enjoy their own company at home or to choose the form of a nuclear family as opposed to extended family. From my perspective, the merits appertaining to this trend far eclispse its downsides, which is indicative of a beneficial phenomenon

For a start, living on with many other family members may intrude on one’s privacy. Thus, living alone serves as an avenue for many to uphold their independence, freedom and autonomy. In a sense, one individual can be coddled by his or her many relatives, which may put certain yokes on their social circle or freedom. A case in point is a viral video on Tik Tok in which the son of one family broke his sister’s priceless antique. Ergo, the situation might easily escalate and consumate in family altercations as the sister cannot make her relative pay for what he had done.

Secondly, as the world advances in an inexorable rate, the preferred lifestyle of both youngsters and retirees also shifts, which now allows them to live at their own pace in a more permissive society. Old couples tend to lead an isolated life away from any relatives in their twillight years inasmuch as they may have different avocations from their own children or grandchildren. To illustrate, the elderly is wont to cling to old-fashioned exercise along the line of the prohibition of tatoos which signify rebellience and criminality in Asia. Moreover, the youth may presumably embark on the journey of self-discovery or occupational preferment in which they have to be alone and learn to cope with everything by themselves.

In conclusion, in the light of the aforementioned points, I staunchly believe that there exists justifications for people’s tendency to lead an isolated life with few or even no companions such as the protection of their own life, privacy and the different inclination among distinct individuals due to age and other socioeconomic causative factors. Be that as it may, individuals should opt for their own suitable style of living regardless of societal trends.