In many countries today the retirement age from work has been raised. Do the advantages of raising the retirement age outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

Yes, the raise in retirement age can benefit a person in various ways; these benefits can outweigh the disadvantages of early retirement because they may be responsible for some undeniable commitments in their lives.

Firstly, the raised retirement age helps them economically. Nowadays, most people do not get retirement benefits after they retire because most work for MNCs, not governmental jobs. So, they do not get any retirement benefits from it. This is where the increased retirement age helps them save for their retirement.

Additionally, the benefits that government employees get from retirement benefits also are not enough to survive. So, this extension should be an extended benefit for government employees, which makes them economically free to spend as much as they want.

However, retirement ages are fixed to a certain period because the human body has a limit; it should be stopped at some time. If we push it hard, that can lead to serious health issues, which will cost them more money than they made in the extended period. And, from my own personal experience, a neighbor of mine was an accountant in a government institution who worked hard for the government and gained retirement benefits from the government. But, after retirement, the money that was given as a retirement benefit was not enough for him, so he started working for a private organization. This post-retirement work gave him stress that he had never seen before, which led to a heart attack.

In conclusion, working hard is good, but there should be a time to stop; otherwise, you will end up like him.