In many countries, truancy* is a worrying problem for both parents and educators.What are the causes of truancy, and what may be the effects on the child and the wider community?

It is true that in many nations, parents and educators are worried about absence in school. There are a number of reasons behind this phenomenon, and it impacts on both students and the society.

Truancy is stem from many factors, first and most important reason is the boredom in studying. It can be seen in Vietnamese students’ curriculum, they are frustrated with the overwhelming subjects which not suitable with themselves. For that reason, children tend to absent and spend time doing other interesting things. Plus, lack of parental care can also cause children’s neglect in study, as they may face issues at school that can be resolved or lack motivation. As a result, the appearance of bullying and violence are increasing considerably which lead to the fair of leaving home for studying in a child.

Regarding the consequences, students have to achieve poor academic performance, which can increase mental health problems because of losing their self-confidence and friendships. Moreover, a child with a lack of essential skills that are taught at school may face unemployment, thus potentially suffering from financial hardship later in life. For instance, the employer will choose an employee who has both knowledge and skills instead of the one who does not have anything. Consequently, the national economic growth may be hampered, this also possibly raises the rate of criminals and other types of illegal behaviours.

In conclusion, the causes of truancy related to students’ boredom with their curriculum at school and lacking parental care. This results in poor academic achievement that can severely affects not only children’s lives but aslo the nation development.