In many countries women are allowed to take maternity leave from their jobs during the first months after the birth of their baby. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In several nations, female employees are given a certain period of months as a leave after giving birth to a child. Although this approach can negatively affect their working counterparts and employers, I believe that it has more benefits that can outweigh its drawback

On the one hand, people argue that permitting women to take leave after their delivery has adverse effects on their colleagues. Firstly, it could result an increase in workloads for their working partners. Simultaneously, the employers have to pay more to those who do extra works, resulting in an increase in workers’ wages.However, these problems are temporary and they could be solved by certain measures, such as equally sharing the tasks between all staffs.

Conversely, this phenomenon can impose numerous advantages to the mother and newly-born infants. Primarily, the first months after the delivery is the period that is extremely essential for both mothers and babies to build a maternal bond. At the same time, a woman has to breastfeed her child during the first months of giving birth since it provides the child with essential nutrients. Additionally, females should get a rest immediately after the birth of their toddlers so that it helps them to restore their physical energy. For instance, recent research conducted by the Cambridge University reveals that mothers who take rest after their delivery can actively perform in their jobs compared to those who immediately returned to their works.

In conclusion, despite the negative effects on the employers and colleagues, allowing women to take rest after their delivery has several benefits such as helping to build a close relationship between mother and son and giving women chance to regain their physical strength. In light of this situation, it is advisable for every woman to take a rest after giving birth to a child because taking a certain period of rest provides them numerous benefits.