In many countries women are allowed to take maternity leave from their jobs during the first months after the birth of their baby. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

A large number of countries around the globe have been allowing their female workers to experience a period of maternity break without working for a couple of months after giving their baby. This essay will explore the reasons behind this trend before concluding whether the positive sides outweigh its demerits.

On the one hand, there are some benefits associated with allowing female workers to leave the working environment in a few months after giving their offspring. It is true that carrying a baby requires a lot of mental and physical endeavours as females must provide continuous nutrients to take care of and sustain necessary energy sources a foreign body inside themselves. Also, a source of silk produced from their mother is highly valuable for a baby’s comprehensive growth and maturity. Thus, this precious period of maternity leave allows women to optimally recover both psychologically and physically as a whole, ensuring that they have the best health performance to continue making contributions for companies.

On the other hand, having a maternity break may lead to some negative impacts that require the attention of companies. As human beings a creature of habits, meaning that a certain period of time without working and performing daily tasks from working places may take a heavy toll on their mental status, potentially resulting in a reduced level of productivity as female labourers may struggle with distress and unwanted anxiety after being with their children for a long time. Additionally, firms must experience intractable difficulties regarding the shortage of human resources. Finding a contemporary worker that effectively takes on the role of these previous female workers is extremely challenging as these new individuals may not exert a wanted performance.

In conclusion, while this development has both positivity and negativity, I still believe that it has more beneficial impacts. Not only can this period allow the mothers to regain their strengths but it also supports their children achieve holistic and optimal growth.