In many developing countries, there is a problem of declining quality of air and water. What are the causes of this and what measures could be taken to prevent this?

In the contemporary discourse surrounding developing countries, it is observed that there is a deleterious effect of construction and industry on the quality of the air and water. Several factors contribute to this repercussion, which can be mitigated by minor changes. This essay will discuss the problems caused by industry and construction in quality of the natural resources like water and air, as well as propose conducive solutions to ameliorate them.

To begin with, the most contributing factor for air pollution is the emission of carbon dioxide, which is the consequence of energy production for industrial and constructional purposes by the use of petroleum and fossil fuels. For example, in Delhi, air pollution has become unbearable during the winter days, while breathing air has become the equivalent of smoking cigarette. In addition, the exploitation of water resources for construction and industry caused an exponential rise in the scarcity of water. Natural resources like lakes, rivers and canals which were serving as a provider for several families, are now failing to meet the requirements because of the overuse by the industry and construction. Thus, these activities are currently exacerbating the lives of the common people.

In my opinion, exploiting the use of sustainable energy sources like wind energy, solar energy, and hydraulic energy will reduce the extent of air pollution and it is a provident way of energy production, which will also ensure the availability of natural resources for the upcoming generation. In addition, we can mitigate the scarcity of water by reusing the water as much as possible and should implement plants that utilize modern technologies like reverse osmosis, to purify water with minimal energy. Hence, these actions are required to eliminate the arduous life which is waiting for the next generation.

In conclusion, due to construction and industry, there are several problems related to the decline of the quality of water and air such as air pollution, and water scarcity, which require serious interventions, otherwise, it will obliterate the serene life on our planet.