In many parts of the world, poverty remains a persistent issue. What are the main effects of poverty on individuals and society as a whole? What measures can be taken to mitigate these effects?

The importance of poverty seems to be a widespread concern all over the world. It is thought that poverty creates a persistent issue. This essay will discuss the main causes of this issue and offer possible solutions.

On the one hand, one of the most significant causes of poverty on people is poor health. What I mean is that people cannot afford nutrition, clean water, or medical treatment. This leads to illnesses and shorter life. Moreover, another crucial cause for poverty’s effect on individuals is psychological stress. Financial difficulties can cause anxiety and depression and individuals can struggle to plan their future. In a survey conducted in Turkey, the rate of people who are in depression increased dramatically. Thus, the causes of unemployment on people should not be underestimated.

On the other hand, one of the main effects of poverty on society is increased crime rates. To make it clear, some people can turn to illegal work to make a good profit. This creates insecurity and social instability. There is one more cause of poverty in society named slower economic growth. A poorly educated and unhealthy workforce is less productive. The government should spend more on healthcare. Experts say that the rate of financial difficulties rose because of poverty. Hence, these are the effects of poverty on society.

In conclusion, as stated above, poverty has several causes, which are mainly poor health, psychological stress, increased crime rates, and slower economic growth. However, it is possible to solve this problem if governments enforce strict regulations and raise public awareness. If these steps are followed, it is possible to eradicate this issue in the future.