In many parts of the world there is continuous coverage of sport on television. Some people believe this discourages the young from taking part in any sport themselves. Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

It is universally accepted that different television channels shows sports regularly like a reality. Does it affect our young people? That’s the question that many countries ask themselves. So that, this essay will discuss these two points of view. Im afraid I do not agree with the statement exposed.

To begin with the topic, I can understand why people think that maybe an excessive coverage of sport may discourage young people from doing any sport. The reason perhaps is that the constant comparison with professional soccer, basketball or hockey players affect how young people develop their selves in real life because of that pressure. When they were children, surely they had a reference or a favorite player, team or television program. The problem is when they have such a fanaticism that disturbed their real life because of the expectative they create in their minds.

On the other hand, I strongly believe that this can be a possibility but is not always a rule. For instance, in my country, many people follow and support Lionel Messi. Children use to have his clothes, with his number at the back and they feel motivated to play soccer. Instead of comparing their selves or suffer for their different skills, they have a dream and believe in it. They work hard for it. It does not matter if they are not the best, but they feel closer to their idol.

As a result, I would say that having a big dream, a motivation or feel admiration for someone; it’s a challenging way of doing what you love. Families have a key role here, because they should support young people without demanding them to be as professional as what we watch on television, due to it is not real life.