In many parts of the world there is continuous coverage of sport on television. Some people believe this discourages the young from taking part in any sport themselves. Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

Due to the advance of information technology nowadays, round-the-clock transmission of sports events increasingly goes vital on television. However, this phenomenon has triggered a heated debate as to whether it would handicap children’s interest in participating in sports. This essay will analyze the effects of sports broadcasting on children followed by personal opinion that not sports coverage but TV products generally affect children’s enthusiasm toward physical activities.

By and large, sports programs indeed play an important role in motivating teenagers to take part in athletics. When a sporting event is broadcast, teenagers could see their role models performing extraordinary skills in a match, and therefore, it is understandable that they will be eager to emulate these techniques in a real game. In addition, thanks to the introduction of new diverse kinds of sports through the media, children could familiarize themselves with many exotic outdoor activities. For example, freestyle football first appeared in Western countries and has been imported to Vietnam recently. As a result, a large number of people jump on this bandwagon, and this sport has attracted many teenagers.

However, the reason why many people firmly hold the belief of the disadvantage of sports coverage is that they do not differentiate the influence of sports programs and TV products in general. Today, not only do TV producers provide audiences with sports transmissions, but they also produce many sorts of programs such as music and films to satisfy viewers’ needs. Consequently, many children will choose to watch television rather than engage in sports. The decline in the number of sports participants comes as no surprise because not all teenagers are passionate about sports.

In conclusion, it appears to me that generally, TV products themselves curb children’s interest in engaging in outdoor activities, while sports promote a sports spirit in the young generation.