In many schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (eg, languages) and boys choose science subjects (eg. Physics). What do you think are the reasons? Do you think that this tendency should be changed?

In present days, it can be observed in many educational institutions that subject preference tends to be related to students’ gender. From my perspective, the correlation between courses and sexes is shaped by their natural characteristics and abilities. Nevertheless, I believe that changing this tendency is not necessary because it has no advantageous effect.

With regard to women, delicateness is the noticeable trait in this gender. Due to this fact, they often see objects in a more sophisticated way. For example, most women are able to identify lipstick shades better than men. In this way, it is evident that females’ inborn skill sets are beneficial to artistic subjects. As a result, courses related to art and aesthetics are more suitable for feminine character than masculine.

As for men, a logical thinking system is mostly found in their population. The fundamental concept behind scientific subjects such as math, physics, and chemistry is the systematic thinking process. For this reason, their process of thinking helped them to achieve a higher performance in subjects that require calculations than women; for instance, numerous well-known scientists and pioneers in history are mostly men such as Albert Einstein, Isaac Newton, and Nichola Tesla.

In conclusion, individuals’ subject preferences are linked to gender by their natural traits and ability such as delicateness and logic. However, I am convinced that this tendency should remain unchanged because adjusting this trend is not able to maximize their academic performance.