In many workplaces, online communication is getting more common than meeting face to face. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, workers commonly work through digital platforms rather than communicating in real life. This essay will argue that the benefits of this event outweigh the drawbacks because, although the preference for meeting the person face to face brings more connection to the communication, it is crucial for people to have the freedom to work at a distance by saving their time effectively.

Online meetings do not allow individuals to work with their colleagues or clients with an actual presence, which, for some individuals, constitutes a vital role in terms of persuading and connecting. That being said, workers who are used to utilizing their body language are more vulnerable and restricted when it comes to persuading their clients to work with them through online platforms. For example, in many books related to communication skills development, people find body language to be an important factor when influencing a person’s decision, which is vital in jobs grounded on this task, like selling product services. However, excluding this disadvantage, many people find more opportunities within the benefits of digital freedom they earn when communicating online.

The biggest advantage of digital communication is the time-saving opportunities for men and women who have a rough schedule. In other words, by having access to their computers, they are able to save their time by not spending it on unnecessary rides or external preparation. Digital services provide an opportunity to work at home, giving more time to the actual work rather than filler tasks that workers go through when working out of the house. For instance, in times when COVID-19 was spreading and people were having to maintain distance, almost every company introduced digital platforms for people to work conveniently at home, not only saving their time effectively, but also doing so despite external restrictions.

In conclusion, while some people might have challenges when doing their work without the connecting factors like body language, the ability to work without external distractions gives workers the freedom to spend their work time with increased efficacy.