In most developed countries shopping is not only about buying the goods you need, it is also perceived as entertainment. Is it a positive or negative development? Give your own opinion and examples based on your experience.

Nowadays shopping is a huge part of people’s daily life, especially in advanced regions. However, shopping has become not only for purchasing necessities, but sometimes also for own amusement. In this essay my opinion is that it has a beneficial development for a society.

First of all, it is worth considering that retail therapy has an impact on human in a positive way. It is known that browsing through stores without shopping list makes people more joyful and content. For example, when I window shopping in places like bookshop or shopping mall I feel myself relaxed because I don’t rush in time and don’t have to look for something certain.

Another factor to consider is going shopping for entertainment gives opportunities for families and friends to spend more time together, create closer links. People communicating discussing goods and other topics by walking around the shopping center. Furthermore, many shopping malls now include cinemas, food courts and event spaces in which they tend to attend between browsing that also increases family bonds. When it comes to me, I regularly window shopping with my dad and sister, not to buy something but to encounter with them more often, since we don’t live together.

To sum up, I believe that doing shopping for fun is a positive development, because it shows that the life level in this particular region is high. People don’t survive, in contrast, they get a chance to relive their stress and live in comfort, feel themselves better.