In nearly all science courses at university, there are significantly more male students than female students. What is the reason for this? What could be done to balance out the numbers?

In contemporary society, it is obvious that the majority of students who choose science courses at college are male students. There are not only some reasons causing this trend but also measures to tackle to balance out the numbers.

To begin with, this phenomenon has been caused by numerous reasons, one of which is students’s interests. Due to the fact that boys prefer to study science subjects, such as chemistry, physics, biology, etc… while girls’ preferences relate to the beauty aspect. For example, some surveys have shown that the majority of females are keen on making up or health care treatment. However, men, just have a thirst for exploring academic subjects like math, and physics. In addition, another reason for this preference is the university’s standard in recruiting learners. Specifically, teachers and educators of educational institutes in science courses, believe that men are excellent at soaking up scientific knowledge easily compared to women. Consequently, institutes would prioritize boy learners in science subjects.

Fortunately, a great number of solutions could be made to address the issue. Firstly, is about changing the standard of schools’ priorities. They have to accept an equal number of male and female students in the science courses. Secondly, women should take part in this subject, which is courage enough to enroll in it. Finally, governments should play a significant role in raising awareness of both schools and female students so that the unbalanced number of students can be tackled. For example, recently, the Vietnamese state has built more campaigns to attract the attention of female youngsters to participate in scientific-related universities, including HURST, and FTP University.

To conclude, students’s interests and schools’ preferences are the two main causes of the mentioned trend. However, there are many measures to solve this, such as governments’ actions, and the change in girls’ attitudes towards science lessons.