In order to be successful in sport, some people think it is essential to have a good coach. Others say that natural ability is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the modern world, the question of whether success in sport is attributed to professional guidance or innate ability has sparked a considerable debate. While some argue having a good coach is indispensable, others claim that natural talent plays a decisive role in achieving success. Although natural ability is a foundation of excellence, I completely agree that full realisation of potential can be accomplished through professional mentorship.

On the one hand, it is a good coach who transforms potential into elite performance. With the aid of high-level coach athletes not only acquire good knowledge of tactics, but also fosters technical efficiency through structured training programmes. Should an athlete train individually, he might be exposed to injuries, while remaining uncorrected. In addition, training by a professional coach creates an environment of high-pressure competitive contexts, enhancing psychological discipline of an athlete. For example, sportsmen trained under the supervision of a qualified coach are better prepared not only for psychological complexity, but also for physical load.

On the other hand, the primary determining factor to reach success stems from biological constraints. Largely inherited abilities such as speed and strength cannot be fully developed in certain athletes. Without exceptional innate abilities, even training under world-class coaches is insufficient to have outstanding results. The vast array of naturally gifted individuals are able to withstand intensive training loads and recover at a rapid pace after them. For instance, Bruno Fernandes who is a professional football player has a remarkable combination of exceptional physical and mental health, which contributed significantly to his outstanding results in the field.

In conclusion, while natural ability remains an essential prerequisite, it is undeniable that guidance from a professional coach is extremely important to accomplish success.