In recent years, many young people spend increasing amounts of time using social media . Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, a clear pattern emerges, as a rapid increase in young people tends to spend their free time using social media. I firmly believe that this trend represents a highly negative development, primarily because it impacts individuals’ self-confidence and limits real-life interactions.

One major downside is a negative impact on people due to the polished publications in social media platforms. By browsing someone’s perfectly curated posts, they often end up comparing themselves and feeling let down. As a result, many people may seek help from a psychologist because of low self-confidence.Moreover, people suffer from seeing these “perfect” images online, which are often heavily edited or photoshopped and do not reflect reality.

Another notable disadvantage is an excessive use of social media leads to a loss of connection with reality. Such time use, particularly among adolescents and young adults, results in reduced communication with friends and family and a weakening of those connections.Consequently, it may have an impact on their future, weaken their bonds with relatives, and impair their communication skills.

In conclusion, the trend toward spending a lot of time using social media among the young public should be regarded as a negative development.Excessive use of social media can harm self-confidence and lead to constant comparisons with others, while also reducing real-life communication and weakening relationships with friends and family.