In recent years, people in many countries have been able to afford more material possessions such as electronic kitchen appliances, computers and vehicles. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this increased level of affluence, and give your opinion about whether this is a positive or negative development.

It has become more common for people to purchase more convenient materials including kitchen appliances, computers and vehicles. I believe that this is a positive development as they facilitate their life regardless of the potential negative outcome of environmental destruction due to a sudden rise in waste.

On the one hand, the prevalent use of modern electric items is a positive development since they allow people to save time and energy. In other words, they are able to have a more satisfactory life thanks to recent inventions, which have replaced many conventional works. For instance, a computer, which is one of the advanced tools today, has enabled people to refer to an excessive amount of information as well as store digital data on a device, reducing the need to file each page, which used to take forever. Therefore, people are able to devote themselves more to creative work and establishing intimate relationships with others instead of spending many hours on laborious paperwork.

On the other hand, growing access to the latest tools will bring about some negative consequences as they harm the environment when they are thrown away by rude consumers. Indeed, the illegal waste of electric tools has become an imminent issue especially as people are able to afford them at a lower cost than in the past. Furthermore, the accumulation of wasted products leads to a growing level of CO2 and harmful substances when they are burnt, posing serious damage to the environment. In contrast to the increasing convenience and comfort for humans, wild animals will be primary victims as they lose more habitat.

In conclusion, I believe that growing access to modern materials is beneficial from the perspective of humans as they greatly reduce the physical workload. However, there is a potential side effect on the environment, which is severely damaged by the increase in electric waste.h