In recent years, there has been a significant increase in the number of oil drilling operations in remote locations around the world. This has brought economic benefits to some countries, though it has also raised concerns about the environmental impact of these operations. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

It is considered that, world’s growing number of oil extraction processes has had positive impact on economics of some countries, although its threats on environment have become global issue. This essay will discuss both sides and argue in favor of the latter.

On the one hand, increase of oil drilling processes has been beneficial for the life style of some countries by increasing their budget. As a country extract more oil from the wells, their place on the global oil market raise to the top of the list by selling more oil and oil products to other countries. For instance, researches show that Azerbaijan has had a significant progress on the global oil market after quitting the USSR and becoming an independent country. This progress made Azerbaijan one of the best oil selling country in quality to amount ratio and multiplied its budget by 3 times in last 15 years.

On the other hand, oil extraction processes have generally huge impact on environment, as effect of leakages, accidents and emissions of these processes are tremendous. During the oil drilling, its transportation and refining, leakages, equipment failures and these types of accidents pollutes the environment by emission of toxic materials to water, air and soil. According to one study on the internet, overall environmental pollution of this decade is 5 times more than the previous decade, and it can be seen on the statistics of deaths of a lot of marine animals, birds, also increase in the number of people with respiratory problems by the toxic emissions in atmosphere and so on.

In my opinion, drawbacks of increasing number of oil drilling processes are much more than their economic advantages, because of the comprehensive environmental impact of these operations.

In conclusion, I think that, though growing number of oil extraction processes have huge benefits on some countries economics by improving their place on oil market, the negative impact of them is much more serious, due to the accidents and emissions affects environment aggressively.