In recent years, there has been a significant increase in the number of oil drilling operations in remote locations around the world. This has brought economic benefits to some countries, though it has also raised concerns about the environmental impact of these operations. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, oil mining operation has increased significantly in the areas having less population which is believed to have economical benefits for some countries. On the other hand, some believe it to be negatively impact on our environment. This essay shall elucidate both perspectives in this argument and later give my personal opinion.

To begin with, most individuals who support the notion that oil extraction has brought economical benefits some countries. And, some people believe this idea because of precedented examples they can see of countries like: Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates(UAE), etc. The reason behind this is due to proper utilization of the available oil mines in their countries. As a result, the nation is able to bring a dramatic financial and economical growth through the oil mining operations. Furthermore, countries can contribute in supply chain in the international market and fulfill the demand of the petroleum products which will eventually help to earn foreign currencies which can further be invested in the different area of development of the nation.

Another area where people are concerned about is the negative impact the oil extraction operation has on our environment . Oil extraction plans are carried out by digging on to the earth surface and extracting fossil fuels underground. Fossil fuel emmit the harmful gases such as : chlorofloro carbon, carbon dioxide, etc. Consequently, the emmission of these sort of harmful gases leads to thinning of the ozone layer ( layer that protects harmful UV rays ) and global warming which has the negative consequences on the environment. For instance, New York Times has published an article concluding the negative impact of oil operation has on our environment through different research sources.

Though, people believe oil extraction plans economically benefit for the development of nation. It is my notion that mining not just degrades the environment but also it impacts negatively on people working on extraction sites. Also, due to it’s high demanding labor supply the laborers working in these sites are under payed. So, I personally suggest countries to be more inclined towards the usage of sustainable and renewable energy sources such as: solar energy and hydro-electricity which will have economical as well as environmental advantages.

In a nutshell, due to the demerits that oil extraction operation has on environment though its benefits economically. It is a better option to focus on renewable and sustainable sources of energy.