In some countries, an average employee is legally obliged to retire at the age of, say 55 or 60, while in others, like Japan, people can work until they are physically and mentally fit to perform duties. What is the system prevailing in your country? Until what age should people be allowed to continue in salaried jobs? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

While in some places, an average worker is legally required to retire at the age of 55 or 60, in Japan, it is allowed to work if a worker is physically and mentally healthy to do the job. Similarly, in my country, some professions, such as teaching, political leadership, or executive powers, can be performed even after retirement. But in my opinion, there should be a maximum age limit, at the age of 75 or 80, to perform any job.

Firstly, the system in my country is similar to Japan; People can work in some positions even after their retirement. This often happens because in some positions, a high level of experience can be required, for example, in teaching or ruling. Since someone can perform their job physically and mentally healthy, there is no obstacle to prevent them, unless they want to work by their own desires. Although the retirement age is 65 in my country, it is possible to see university professors, C-suite businessmen, entrepreneurs, and others working at the age of 75 or even 80.

Secondly, my opinion about this topic does not align with either Japan or my country. I believe that there should be a limit on the age for working, otherwise, it will be hard to interact with the clients and it can harm the employee themselves. My mathematics professor in the university, for example, was at the age of 85 when he was our teacher. I cannot explain how hard it was to understand him, because he had difficulties to hear us and that was affecting the quality of the lessons significantly. Additionally, people at such an age can be vulnerable to physical and psychological complexities, so any conflict or accident in their workplace can harm them and cause vital problems.

In summary, it is true that while in some places employees are obliged to retire at the age of 55 or 60, in Japan and my country, people can continue their job, even after the retirement age. However, I support that there should be a maximum age for working, for some reasons.