In some countries, an increasing number of children are overweight or obese as a result of eating too much fast food. Banning fast food from school canteens is the best way to flight this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Among certain nations, more and more children become overweight or obese due to excessive consumption of fast food. It is commonly believed that prohibiting fast food in schools will tackle this problem. I do not agree with such an opinion since the quality of food students eat outside school is as important as that of meals from school canteen.

Firstly, many families consume unhealthy food on a regular basis. On average, youths have one meal in school during the day depending on their timetable. Even in the event that only healthy food is available, certain students still eat fast food at home. In the long run, one nutritious meal a day cannot boost children’s health if they continue consuming bad food outside school.

Secondly, plenty of teenagers tend to buy unhealthy snacks. Supposedly, fast food would be banned in schools. Despite that, students who are used to fast food can buy crisps or chocolates in the nearest convenience store or a fast food chain. As a result, adolescents still would not get a nutritious meal although unhealthy food is not permitted at school.

Thirdly, organic food might be hard to afford for those from less privileged backgrounds. Children in need might not have enough pocket money to afford a balanced meal. Banning fast food for such students may result in not having lunch at school at all, which has a tremendous impact on growing organisms.

In conclusion, I do not support the idea of prohibiting fast food in schools since it would not significantly improve children’s health.