In some countries it is thought advisale that children begin formal education at four years old, while in others they do not have to start school until they are seven or eight. How far do you agree with either of these views?

It is said that young children are probably exposed to formal education at early five years old, while others think that they should begin to go to school when they are seven or eight. Personally, I completely agree with the latter opinion.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that children can start formal education at four years old. To begin with, they probably have better absorption in this period. This is because children at this age tend to have curiosity about everything, which can stimulate them to explore and study new knowledge deeply by asking and talking to their parents or teachers comfortably. For example, in the English learning process, toddlers with their curiosity and interest probably communicate with English tutors confidently, which means they will not feel ashamed even if they make some mistakes in the speaking process. As a result, this can aid them to advance their abilities as well as absorb knowledge better. Additionally, under-five-years-old children are possibly exposed to high-qualified education that can help build formal foundations early for the future. This can help them avoid feeling confused when studying more difficult knowledge as well as having more time to search for more advanced perspectives of formal lessons.

On the other hand, I believe that children should start formal education until they are seven or eight. Firstly, they possibly have enough ability to withstand peer pressure in school. In the educational environment, children have to meet more excellent peers with a variety of achievements and special talents. Therefore at seven or eight years old, they can have enough awareness to remind themselves to try more to become successful instead of feeling jealous as well as disappointed in themselves. Furthermore, they can also have deeper vision and analytical skills with complicated knowledge. At this age, their brain can develop a higher ability, which will be easy for them to analyze and understand as well as not to feel unbreathable with difficult things.

Some may argue that children can start to study formal knowledge at early five years old. However, this can make youngsters have to face mental health problems like depression or stress early because they are too young to stand heavy pressures from study and relationships at their schools . In addition, being exposed to formal education early can lead to boredom and distraction when going to class because of a misleading thought that they could know everything.

In conclusion, it can be true that children can begin formal education at four years old. However, I believe that they ought to be exposed to this type of education when they are seven or eight.