In some countries it is thought advisale that children begin formal education at four years old, while in others they do not have to start school until they are seven or eight. How far do you agree with either of these views?

In some countries it is recommended for children to start systematic education at the age of four, whereas in others traditionally they start school when they are seven or eight years old. In this essay I will discuss both options and find positive and negative sides of each one.

First of all, children learn how to discipline themselves. The child’s behaviour and mentality is formed in their early years. The sooner they start to study and follow the schedule, the easier will they adapt to the school in the future. On top of that, the intellectual development goes quicker and better. Early formal education makes children start to think, analyse and search for different solutions of one problem earlier, than ordinary people did, that makes them academically more successful, because by the time they start school, they will have been taught to do more.

On the other hand people who started to study at the age of 4 are tend to become adults too early, whereas those whose education started at seven or eight had a full childhood. Childhood is a psychological stage of the individual formation and it is important to give children an ability to feel the freedom. Due to this, studying should accurately be put into the child’s life. Additionally, the development of their intellect matches their psychology. There is a criteria of child’s development which is accepted as normal and it is not necessary to overtake it. Starting school at this age keeps it on the appropriate level and helps to avoid problems such as finding friends of their age group with similar interests and development in future.

To summarize, having formal education started at early age leads to more successful academic future and easier adaptation to school, however it should be planned correctly, including free time for a child. However beginning school at seven or eight is an ordinary and psychologically right way for a child.