In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people.

I agree with that because in some countries, the price of houses rise rocketly year by year which means if you have enough money to own a house you will get a lot of profit in the future which is one of the solid reasons why people think it’s better to own a house than rent one. Not only from that reason, an economic situation or even the common thought in those countries can also be the reason that owning houses causes a big impact in their life.

Anyway, the most important reason in my opinion is the value of house and money in the country. Which one tends to have more value in the future will be one significant factor that people will consider for deciding whether they will buy or rent a house. For instance, in Japan nowadays, the value of their money tends to fall more and more while the price of houses and lands increase incredibly due to limited space in their country and natural disasters. So, it is understandable if they have enough potential, they will choose to buy rather than rent.

Besides, in some countries, there is an idea that passing from the old generation that buying their own house is one of the big achievements in their life which also can be proved their success. Therefore, when they start their career, they will keep some of their income for buying the house.

In conclusion, from all those reasons that is why I think in some countries, buying your own accommodation is more important and make you are looked better in term of social status than renting.