In some countries people believe that children should be taught how to manage money at school. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that students should be taught about money management skills at school. I agree with this view to some extent and I also believe that the responsibility of parents cannot be ignored.

On the one hand, children tend to be more attentive to their teachers. This means that teachers can teach them about financial management skills through educational programs or by adding topics associated with this subject in their academic curriculum. As a result, children can get knowledge while learning. Furthermore, many working parents are unable to manage time and teach them how to save and budget money wisely. Therefore, younger people limit awareness about it at home. For example, many teenagers are spending their money on unnecessary items unknowingly because of a lack of information about money skills.

On the other hand, parents should be responsible for this equally. Primarily, they are considered the first teacher before school, where children gain knowledge of finance and its management at home. In addition, children are more likely to imitate behaviours swiftly, so guardians should able to create an appropriate environment accordingly since an early age. A notable example can be seen in disciplined and well educated family members, whose children know how to use and save money appropriately from an early age.

In conclusion, although people believe that it should be the duty of school to make them aware of financial skills. I feel that both schools and parents should have equal responsibility for teaching their children how to manage money.