In some countries people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? Is it positive or negative development

This often happens in some countries due to a variety of reasons, including cultural and economic reasons; for one, cultural reasons in some countries can result in people working long hours. As an example, in Japan, employees spend up to 40 hours a week at work and often go into overtime, working sometimes up to 44 hours a week. This is due to Japanese cultural traditions, which emphasize long hours, high productivity, and personal sacrifice. This also often results in the infamous ”karoshi” or ”death from overwork” where employees die from strokes or heart attacks due to the stress and pressure of long work hours.

Economic reasons also play a key factor in long hours at work, as an example, in China, is the infamous ”996” work schedule, which is practiced among some companies in China. ”996” comes from the fact that this schedule requires employees to clock in from 9:00 am to 9:00 pm, 6 days per week, resulting in employees working 12 hours per day and 72 hours per week. This extreme work schedule comes from economic reasons such as rapid growth, intense competition, and a focus on speed and cost reduction.

This development has been extremely negative for employees themselves, as it often results in extreme stress, a struggle to maintain such excessive work hours, resulting in fatigue, a severe lack of sleep, and health problems for workers, and dozens of overwork deaths have occurred alongside suicides both in China and Japan. In addition, they suffer from a lack of work-life balance.

In conclusion, Long Work Hours in some countries result from both cultural and economic factors; this has been a negative development for employees, as they suffer from extreme stress, fatigue, lack of sleep, and even in many cases, death from overwork.