In some countries people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? Is it positive or negative development

In most countries, people spend long hours at work. This has both positive as well as negative asepcts. Looking at the positive aspects first, people stay till late night completing work, as they get self-satisfaction and a sense of accomplishment. Mostly, employees at top postions like vice president, managers, etc. have a lot of workload. In order to keep up with the expectations of the other superior members of the organisation, they tend to stay late and finish most of their work. This builds their reputation as well as the company’s goodwill, as most of the projects are submitted to the clients on time.

However, the negative aspects supersede the positive ones. There are multiples disadvantages cause due to spening long hours at work. Employees, generally, have to sit and face the computer all day, which may effect their eyesight as well as their posture. These workers are burdened with immense work, that they may not be getting enough sleep. Furthermore, due to lack of sleep, they feel exhausted and might not be productive. One major consequence is ,that, employees may not have time for their own personal routine. They would not get enough time to relax and to do the little things that they love to do.

To sum it up, people, mostly, office workers should strike a balance between work and their personal lives. Workers may end up neglecting their family and friends due to pressure from work and this may lead to larger emotional problems. They should maintain a healthy lifestyle and also must take care of their mental well-being.