In some countries, students live with their family while studying at a university. In other countries, students attend university in another city. Do you think the advantages of living away from family home while attending university outweigh the disadvantages?

There are many conversations around this topic; somebody said that living far away is not unnecessary; however, some people hold the opposite opinion, believing that staying with the university in their hometown is more comfortable. In my point of view, I believe that the profits of moving to another university in other city cannot outweigh the accompanying losses.

On the one hand, first of all, one of the most significant benefits of studying college away from one’s hometown that people talk about is that a person would learn many essential skills. If a person has to live alone and do everything by himself, basic skills such as managing time and dividing one’s workload will be gained and accumulated through experience. In addition, the quality of universities is not the same between cities. For example, people will choose a university in another city because the professional qualifications of the tutors are better; moreover, the facilities are more modern and superior.

On the other hand, living far from home to study may bring some cons, such as mental health problems. In reality, some research points out that people who live in different environments might have more mental health issues than people who have lived in familiar environments. These problems are caused by people needing to adapt to change too quickly. Besides that, incredible pressure is one of the reasons; people who have this burden almost always have to pay for many things, such as housing and tuition.

In conclusion, although people who choose to live in another city for studying will have advantages, it brings advantages along with many problems that are not easy to solve, and it needs to be considered very carefully