In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the modern day society, youngsters are tend to be skipping the University and focusing on mastering a skill for their carrier. Skill development is highly relevant and offers tremendous benefits to start a carrier, whilst University education demands time and patience to enter into their field.

The first and foremost advantage of work based learning is the opportunity to concentrate on a particular skill and excel in that field. There is a saying that if you practice the same thing over a hundred times, nobody can beat you in there. And in todays world, job market targets on highly talented and experienced workers. Apart from this, job based training are affordable than a University degree and could finish in shortly. This means, students do not have to spent three or four years to graduate, then find a job and earn experience and then settle, which is a log term investment of their youthfullness. Hence, those who prefer to settle early in life could take advantage of learning these short term diplomas.

On the other hand, University education is a stepping stone to one’s success in life. While students choosing work based training, they are disregarding their chance to attain more experience and knowledge in the field. Although University graduates are starting slow in their carrier, they build their foundation strong which would eventually help them to attract a better window in life. Furthermore, carrier advancements are harder for skill based workers. They could only get promoted to a certain level on their field, as they do not have much understanding about the other areas of the job. However, a well educated personality would always stand out in their carrier.

In conclusion, although there are many advantages of skill based education, I personally believe that their disadvantages could ward off their benefits.