In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In a world that is constantly changing and demanding a more experienced and up-to-date workforce, many people are choosing work-base trainings instead of going to university. Such trend has been happening in many countries and this shift has its advantages and drawnbacks. This essay will discuss about how the positive points do not outweigh the disadvantages, since not having an university degree can be detrimental for someone’s career in the long term.

There are two main advantages for the current trend of the choice to not going to an university to go to work-based trainings. Firstly, the job market has demands that are usually urgent, so if a worker is no longer going to university for four or five years, with some trainings he is going to be ready to work. A good example is how there is a huge demand for data professionals nowadays and there are just a few graduated professionals for these positions. For that reason, many companies are contracting people without a proper degree, since the necessity is recent and the universities have not been able to attend this demand in a short period of time. Another advantage is how much debt students can avoid if they do not go to a university and go directly to a work-based training. Students debts are usually a heavy burden for a student to pay for, specially at the beggining of their careers.

The main drawnback, on the other hand, outweighs the advantages. Not having a degree can impact a worker in the long term, since there are many studies that points the exponetial growth in the workforce salary with the amount of years of formal study. If someones chooses to not have a degree, unfortunately, there is going to be a limit of how far someone can go when it comes to income.

In conclusion, even thought there are advantages for both the companies and the workers, the advantages of this situation do not outweigh the disadvantages. Thinking in a long term scenario, people can suffer in the future if they do not enroll in a formal university in order have high positions in their careers.