In some countries, there has been an increase in the number of parents who are choosing to self-educate their children at home rather than sending them to school. Do advantages of home education outweigh the disadvantages?

It is argued that in recent years, an increasing number of families have taken a keen interest in the idea of teaching their children at home rather than sending them to school. Although this trend can bring several benefits, I hold the belief that its advantages are overshadowed by many disadvantages.

On the one hand, this development is of benefit. Firstly, parents can prevent children from exposing to improper behaviors. Indeed, in a class, children’s perceptition of how to behave towards others can be affected detrimentally by their naughty classmates, leading to the creation of violence or selfishness in their personalities. Accordingly, while educating students at home, parents can elucidate meticulously code of conduct to them. Secondly, home education can support families financially. Parents may not need to pay travel costs or tuition fees which can be considered a significant burden on low-income families. As a result, they can take advantage of savings to spend on other living expenses.

On the other hand, I believe that its disadvantageous influences outweigh the aforementioned merits. The main downside is that home teaching can pose a high risk of mental diseases. Limited contacts with their peers can impede children from experiencing their childhood. In the long run, they may isolate themselves from social relationships, leading to the emergence of psychological disorders such as depression or autism. Another downside is that children’s academic performance can be influenced due to the lack of professional education. Parents who have never undergone any methodology courses cannot impart academic knowledge or general information to their children effectively. Therefore, children’s understanding of subjects or disciplined may be restrained.

In conclusion, while home teaching can be beneficial, I embrace the opinion that it triggers more adverse effects on children’s welfare and academic achievement.