In some countries, there has been an increase in the number of parents who educate their children themselves at home instead of sending them to school. What are the advantages and the disadvantages of teaching children at home?

It has been observed that in some nations, numerous individuals choose to be educated at home rather than attending school. While it is true that household education is more flexible and convenient for children, I believe that these advantages can not outweigh the drawbacks.

On the one hand, a significant benefit of homeschooling is that the schedule can be modified flexibly and suitably to children’s development. Compared to the traditional counterpart, studying at home allows parents to arrange the effective curriculum and subjects suitable to their offspring’s future path, since the entire teaching program is designed for a smaller number of students, not for the whole school. Furthermore, public environments contain heightened risk of unexpected incidents; therefore, home is safer and less impacted by negative social influences. A study in numerous developed nations reveals that nearly a one-third of the families prefer homeschooling over letting students attend educational institutions, as they believe schools are facing numerous problems such as bullying and inequality, which result in children suffering from mental health problems or the potential chances of participating in further crimes. Meanwhile, youngsters being homeschooled will definitely refrain from these issues, at the same time ensuring both consistent studying progress and developing appropriate behaviors and characteristics.

On the other hand, the drawbacks of homeschooling are more compelling. Firstly, the limited perspectives children will receive throughout this type of education will hinder their career paths in the future. While learning at school, youngsters are exposed to a more diverse range of different ideas and personalities, thereby acquiring novel points of view and broadening their horizon, students being homeschooled will only obtain a certain set of beliefs, without being ensured that their parents’ mindsets are appropriate and standardized or not. In the long run, these individuals may find it harder to integrate into the community or even get promotions in their careers compared to other people with more interactions and understandings of the society by learning from school. Secondly, children with household education master fewer soft skills than their peers. For instance, when it comes to team work, school generates ideal spaces for students to work as a team and collaborate with other people, meanwhile youngsters at home have fewer opportunities to practice and obtain this skill. Subsequently, these individuals are not equipped with the practical skills required in their future careers, which also reduces their competitiveness in terms of job applications.

In conclusion, although homeschooling may bring about certain advantages, its disadvantages in terms of lack of soft skills practices and the limited range of perspectives and mindsets exposed make it overall a less beneficial choice compared to the traditional schooling.